Skip to main content

Best Emergency Water Pouches for Preparedness Kits

Emergency water pouches are small, sealed and easy to pack. They are also tiny: about 30 of them make one gallon. Here is what the makers actually publish, and where pouches fit in a real plan.

Updated September 20268-minute readSpecifications from manufacturer documentation only
Disclosure. Emergency Water Source participates in the Amazon Associates Program and earns from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, marked where they appear, below the comparison and the buying guidance. Nothing here was hands-on tested, and no price, rating or stock claim is printed. This is general preparedness information, not a substitute for instructions from local emergency officials or your water utility during an active event.
A man packing silver water pouches, a flashlight and a first-aid pouch into a small backpack by the front door

Emergency water pouches against the other sealed formats

Emergency water pouches trade capacity for portability: they are the easiest sealed format to carry and the least efficient way to store a household’s gallons.

A format comparison, not a product table. Example sizes are the ones named; counts and weights are calculated from 128 fl oz and 8.329 lb per U.S. gallon (USGS).
FormatExample sizeUnits per gallon (calculated)Best jobWeak spot
Emergency water pouch4.2 fl oz (125 mL), as in both products belowAbout 30Go-bags, car kits, work and school kitsHundreds needed for a household supply
Bottled water16.9 fl oz (500 mL)About 7.6Everyday rotation at homeBulky per gallon; plastic cases stack poorly
Gallon jug1 gallon1Simple home supplyAbout 8.3 lb each; thin jugs vary in durability
Refillable container3.5 to 7 gallonsUnder 1The core of a home supplyAbout 29 to 58 lb full; must be rotated every 6 months if home-filled

How this table was built. This compares formats, not brands, so it uses example sizes rather than manufacturer claims, and every count or weight is arithmetic. Product facts appear further down, only as stated in each manufacturer’s own documentation. Nothing was tested, and no price, rating or stock claim appears anywhere on this page.

One gallon, in 4.2 fl oz pouches

  • 30 pouchesabout 126 fl oz at 4.2 fl oz each (calculated)
  • 1 gallon128 fl oz: one person’s daily storage allowance
A drawn illustration. At 4.2 fl oz a pouch, 128 ÷ 4.2 is about 30.5 pouches per gallon.

What emergency water pouches are actually for

Emergency water pouches are a carry format for kits and go-bags, not a replacement for a stored household supply.

The CDC and Ready.gov allowance for stored water is at least 1 gallon per person per day, for drinking and sanitation, for at least 3 days. At about 30 pouches per gallon, a single person’s 3-day allowance is about 92 pouches, rounded up (calculated). A family of four’s is about 366. Few homes would choose to store water that way.

Where pouches earn their place is anywhere a jug will not go: a go-bag, a car kit, a desk drawer at work, a child’s school kit. For those, small sealed servings that do not leak when squashed are exactly the point. The CDC calls unopened, commercially bottled water the safest and most reliable source of water in an emergency, and sealed commercial pouches are part of that family of products.

Where pouches belong

  • WrongHundreds of pouches as the whole household supply.
  • RightPouches in the go-bag; jugs or containers carry the home supply.
A drawn illustration. No figures appear in the picture; the counts are in the text.

How many emergency water pouches a kit needs

The number of pouches a kit needs is people times days times the daily amount, divided by the pouch size.

Pouches for your kit

Choose the basis. The storage allowance covers drinking and sanitation; the fluid figure covers drinking only.

Pouches92of 4.2 fl oz, rounded up
Water weight25pounds, before packaging

How this is worked out. Pouches is people × days × daily fluid ounces ÷ 4.2, rounded up. The 128 fl oz basis is the CDC and Ready.gov allowance of 1 gallon per person per day; the 96 fl oz basis is Ready.gov’s figure of about ¾ of a gallon of fluid a day for a normally active person. Weight is gallons × 8.329 pounds (USGS).

What it will not do. It adds nothing for heat, children, nursing mothers, illness or pets; Ready.gov says needs can be higher without publishing a figure, and can double in very hot temperatures.

The two emergency water pouches checked at the manufacturer

Both pouches below were checked against the maker's own documentation in September 2026, and each card prints only what that maker states.

Pouch A

S.O.S. Emergency Drinking Water pouch

  • Size: “4.2 fluid oz (125 ML)” Stated
  • Per case: “96 pouches per case” Stated
  • Shelf life: “5-year shelf life” Stated
  • Approval: “USCG Approval # 160.026/65/0” Stated
  • Water: “triple purified using reverse osmosis and is UV sterilized” Stated
  • Packaging: “vacuum packed foil” Stated
  • Case weight: 30.0 lb Stated
  • One case holds: about 3.2 gallons, or about 3 person-days at 1 gallon a day Calculated

View S.O.S. emergency water pouches on Amazon

Affiliate link. Confirm the listing is the case size you intend; the manufacturer's spec sheet lists 96 pouches per case.

Pouch B

Mayday Pouch Water, product 73011

  • Size: “4.225 ounce pouches” Stated
  • Per case: “carton of 100” Stated
  • Shelf life: “5 year shelf life” Stated
  • Standard: “Complies with ISO 18813:2022” Stated
  • License: California bottle license “#45770” Stated
  • Case weight: 28 lbs Stated
  • Packaging material: Not stated by the manufacturer. Not stated
  • Coast Guard approval: Not stated by the manufacturer. Not stated
  • One case holds: about 3.3 gallons, or about 3 person-days at 1 gallon a day Calculated

View Mayday emergency water pouches on Amazon

Affiliate link. Some retail listings describe this product as Coast Guard approved; the manufacturer page checked here does not, so this page does not print that claim.

How these cards were built. S.O.S. figures come from the manufacturer's emergency water pouch spec sheet and product page; Mayday figures from the manufacturer's product page for 73011. Anything a maker does not state is printed as “not stated by the manufacturer.” Neither pouch appears in a side-by-side specification table because the four-cell rule requires a stated capacity and a stated material, and Mayday's page states no packaging material. Shelf lives are the makers' own claims, not agency figures.

Datrex pouches are also widely searched. This page has not yet checked Datrex's own documentation, so it prints no Datrex specifications and carries no Datrex link.

Who emergency water pouches are not for

Emergency water pouches are the wrong tool for anyone trying to store a household's full supply.

  • Not for you if they would be your only stored water. One case covers one person for about 3 days at the storage allowance (calculated).
  • Not for you if you want to rotate water through everyday use. Bottled water or refillable containers suit that better.
  • Not for you if the goal is the lowest cost per gallon. Compare price per gallon on the listing: divide the price by the gallons in the case.
  • Not for you if you need water for cooking or washing in any volume. Pouches are drinking servings.

For the home supply itself, the container guide compares formats: best emergency water storage containers. For quantities, use the emergency water storage calculator.

Common questions about emergency water pouches

Short answers to what people ask before buying water pouches.

Where these facts come from

Agency figures and manufacturer statements, each checked in September 2026.

  1. SOS Food Lab, “Emergency Water Pouch” spec sheet. sosfoodlab.com — 4.2 fl oz (125 mL), 96 pouches per case, 5-year shelf life, USCG Approval # 160.026/65/0, case weight 30.0 lb, triple purified by reverse osmosis and UV sterilized. And “Emergency Water” page, sosfoodlab.com — withstands -22ºF to +149ºF. Checked September 2026.
  2. SOS Food Lab, “4.2 fluid oz. Water Pouch” product page. sos-food-lab-llc.myshopify.com — “vacuum packed foil.” Checked September 2026.
  3. Mayday Industries, “73011 Mayday Pouch Water (Case of 100).” maydaysupplies.com — 100 4.225 ounce pouches, 5 year shelf life, complies with ISO 18813:2022, California bottle license #45770, weight 28 lbs. Checked September 2026.
  4. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “How to Create and Store an Emergency Water Supply” (reviewed June 27, 2025). cdc.gov — 1 gallon per person per day for 3 days; unopened commercially bottled water; observe the expiration date; 50°F–70°F. Checked September 2026.
  5. Ready.gov, “Water.” ready.gov — about ¾ gallon of fluid daily for a normally active person; needs can double in heat. Checked September 2026.
  6. U.S. Geological Survey, “Water Density.” usgs.gov — 8.329 lb per gallon. Checked September 2026.

Reviewed September 2026. Next review: September 2027. This is general preparedness information, not a substitute for instructions from local emergency officials or your water utility during an active event. Needs can be higher for infants, children, older adults, pregnancy, illness, pets, hot conditions, and physically demanding activity. Use only clean, food-grade containers intended for drinking water. If the water may contain fuel, chemicals, salts, or other non-microbial contamination, do not assume boiling or disinfection makes it safe.

How this page was made. Researched and drafted with AI assistance, then reviewed and fact-checked against the sources cited above by a real human before publication. Every safety claim traces to a named government or first-party source; every product specification comes from the manufacturer’s own documentation, with anything unpublished printed as “not stated by the manufacturer” rather than estimated. Nothing on this page was hands-on tested. The illustrations are AI-generated or drawn and carry no figures of their own. Our editorial standards

Disclosure. Emergency Water Source participates in the Amazon Associates Program and earns from qualifying purchases. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The two product buttons on this page are affiliate links.